Human Electric Trike Thesis

Design of an electrically assisted human powered trike

1-05 Update

Posted by Bob Dold on Friday, January 5, 2007 2:40 PM

Haven’t posted much in the last month because I was busy writing my final report and preparing my presentation. Needless to say I am a little burnt out after completing all of it and am taking a break until spring on the project. The presentation and report went very well and I received an A on my thesis which completed my Masters in Mechanical Engineering.

There are a couple of minor issues I need to address such as the lack of a freewheel on the pedals and some chain drive issues but otherwise the trike performed very well once I got the 8 speed hub installed. I have several events in the spring I need to show the trike at so I will need to get the fixes completed by then.

zeept1.JPG

12 Responses to “1-05 Update”

  1. leucos said

    Well, it’s no surprise you got your exam. Your design is truly impressive. I am in good position to speak about this, since I’ve done an electric bike in my backyard and the result is really ridiculous compared to what you achieved here.
    Great work !
    Happy new year and keep it up.

  2. enderw88 said

    Congratulations of finishing your thesis. A big load off I know!

  3. Don Harmon said

    You deserve an “A” on your thesis. That is one beautiful trike ! Hope you come to Las Vegas and work for us someday !

    Don Harmon

    http://www.boomerbents.com/

  4. Kevin Johnson said

    Very impressive. I like your design. I bet the trike is a ton of fun!

  5. Tom Furie said

    Awsome work!
    No posts since Jan 2007!
    What has happened since?
    Are your designs available for purchase?

  6. Lhoste said

    Hi there,
    Your job is incredible.
    I woul like to know if you can send me your solidworks files to help me designing another trike (without electric assistance for the moment).
    I don’ t manage to find this kind of files anywhere on the web.

    Have a good day

  7. heslyn said

    great work
    can u help me in one such project

  8. Dependancy said

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Dependancy
    .

  9. marty said

    Did you ditch the Currie motor controller? what gear ratio are you using?

  10. marty said

    Also, did you replace the lubricant in the gears? I have a stealth 1000 with noisy sprockets.

  11. Mads said

    Your design is impressive..
    No posts since August 2008!
    What has happened since?

  12. Casey, as it happens I gave Wizfolio a try some weeks ago, importing my complete Zotero collection without a problem. I found Wizfolio a reasonable re Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a Reply

 
